As a Church of England School, we have very strong links with our local village Church, St. Mary’s. The children, parents and staff visit our local church at Harvest time, Christmas, Easter, for our leavers service and at many other times for example Experience Pentecost. Rev. Sally Wheeler visits the school regularly to work with the children and lead Collective Worship and is a Foundation Governor at our School.
The original church on its present site, was consecrated by Walter de Canteloupe, the Bishop of Worcester, on 1st June 1242.
The form of the present church dates from about 1470 when the monks of Tewkesbury rebuilt it. A gallery at the west end of the church was erected some time before 1818 when an organ was included on the gallery.
In 1870 and again in 1902-3 much restoration was carried out, specifically the renovation of the Tower inside and out, the porch was restored, oak choir stalls installed, panelling constructed, the chancel floor repaved and gallery removed. The organ was moved to its present position at about the same time.
In 1950 the former Chapel of St Clement at the east end of the North aisle was restored by Major John Pope in memory of his parents.